Skip to main content

Deadline register

Canada pension deadlines for people who left

We list every obligation we have verified in Canada's pension system that runs on a time limit for someone who no longer lives there. Each row says what starts the clock, how long it runs and what is lost, with the official source and the date we checked it. We hold 19 rows for Canada. Where an official source is silent, we say so on the row rather than guess.

Pick the year and we open the free checker with Canada already selected.

CanadaLost outright
What starts the clock
The end of the calendar year for which the OASRI is being filed.
How long
No later than April 30 of the following year (the page's example: the OASRI for 2025 must be filed no later than April 30, 2026).
What is lost
If Part XIII.2 tax is owed for the year and the return is filed late, the CRA charges a late filing penalty of 5 percent of the balance owing plus 1 percent of the balance owing for each full month the return is late, to a maximum of 12 months.

Non-resident OAS pensioners subject to the Part XIII.2 tax must file the annual Old Age Security Return of Income by April 30 of the following year.

What the source does not say

The page does not state that OAS payments stop the following July if the OASRI is not filed on time. It only says filing on time helps ensure the pension is not suspended by Service Canada; it does not name a specific suspension month or date. Our archive's 'stops the following July' consequence could not be confirmed on this page and is not included.

Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaLost outright
What starts the clock
The end of the calendar year in which the eligible income was received.
How long
June 30, the filing due date for a section 217 return; the CRA cannot accept the election if filed after June 30.
What is lost
If you file late and the required non-resident tax was withheld on your eligible section 217 income, the withheld amount becomes your final tax obligation for that income, and the CRA will send you a notice of assessment for the difference if less than the required amount was withheld.

A non-resident who wants to elect under section 217 of the Income Tax Act to be taxed on certain Canadian source income (including CPP and OAS) as if a resident must file the section 217 return by June 30 of the year after the income was received.

What the source does not say

None identified; deadline and consequence were both directly and consistently stated across two fetches of the same page.

Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaForfeiture
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Death in or before the month of the 70th birthday, with no application on file
What is lost
"it can't be paid to anyone else." If the contributor was over 70 at death, the source states the estate may receive only "payment for the month of death and the 11 months preceding the death".
Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaForfeiture
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
40 years for the transfer to the Receiver General; 100 years for balances of $1,000 or more
What is lost
The Bank pays the amount "without interest to the Receiver General and the Bank may destroy all records relating to the debt, instrument, claim or returned payment." For balances of $1,000 or more after 100 years, "The Bank is not liable".

Money left in a dormant Canadian bank account and transferred to the Bank of Canada is handed to the Receiver General within two months of the end of the calendar year in which a 40-year period expires, and the Bank stops being liable for balances of $1,000 or more after 100 years.

CanadaBackdating limit
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Maximum 11 months before the month the application is received; never before the month after the 65th birthday
What is lost
No retroactive start date earlier than 11 months before the month of application is available. The page also states that applying in the month of the 65th birthday or earlier produces no retroactivity at all.
Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaBackdating limit
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Maximum 12 months of back payments (11 months plus the month of application)
What is lost
"If you delay, you may lose benefits." Back payments beyond 12 months are not made.
Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaBackdating limit
What starts the clock
Month Service Canada receives the application
How long
Up to 11 months before the month of receipt, never earlier than the month after the 65th birthday
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

If you apply for the CPP retirement pension after age 65, you can request a retroactive start date as early as 11 months before the month Service Canada received the application, but no earlier than the month after your 65th birthday. Applying in the month of your 65th birthday or earlier gives no retroactivity.

What the source does not say

The page says a retroactive start can be as early as 11 months before the month of receipt. With the month of receipt that makes up to 12 months of payment, but the page's own figure is 11, and that is the figure recorded here.

Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaApplication window
What starts the clock
The month CPP receives the application.
How long
As early as 11 months before the month the application was received, but no earlier than the month after the applicant's 65th birthday.
What is lost
The retroactive start date cannot go back further than 11 months before the month the application was received, so pension for any earlier month is not paid.

Service Canada's own guidance on when to start the CPP retirement pension states that a late applicant who has already turned 65 can request a retroactive start date going back at most 11 months before the month the application was received, and no earlier than the month after the 65th birthday.

What the source does not say

We could not find the exact matching provision in the text of the Canada Pension Plan Act (RSC 1985 c C-8) on the Justice Laws site. Section 67(3.1)(c) of the Act uses the same wording, the eleventh month before the month of application, but we could not obtain a clean, complete text of that subsection, so the canada.ca page is the source.

Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaApplication window
What starts the clock
The month in which the supplement application is received, deemed to have been made, or the requirement for an application is waived.
How long
No supplement may be paid for any month that is more than eleven months before the month in which the application is received or is deemed to have been made or waived.
What is lost
No supplement is paid for any month more than eleven months before the month the application is received, deemed made, or waived; those earlier months are lost.

The Old Age Security Act caps how far back the monthly Guaranteed Income Supplement (paid under Part II of the Act) can be paid to a late applicant, at eleven months before the month the application is received.

What the source does not say

Did not separately confirm a plain language canada.ca restatement of this 11 month GIS limit; relied on the consolidated Act text.

CanadaApplication window
What starts the clock
The day on which the pension application is received.
How long
Approval may be effective as of an earlier day, but not before the later of a day one year before the day the application was received, and the day the applicant attained the age of sixty five years.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

The Old Age Security Act sets the earliest date from which a late OAS pension application can be paid. If the applicant had already turned 65 before the application was received, approval can be backdated no more than one year before the day the application was received.

any additional penalty.

What the source does not say

The page did not present this as a punitive consequence, only as the statutory boundary of the earliest effective date. Could not confirm whether Service Canada administrative pages restate this cap in plain language, since none of the canada.ca pages checked today (payments.html, benefit-amount.html, apply.html, old-age-security.html) contained retroactivity wording.

CanadaApplication window
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Within 60 days of the date of death
What is lost
The page does not state a penalty for the executor; it states only that if there is no estate or the executor has not applied, "payment may be made to other persons" in a stated order of priority.
Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaRegistration deadlineClosed 30 April 2026
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Annually, by 30 April (for the 2025 year: 30 April 2026)
What is lost
The OAS pension is suspended in July. Late filing where recovery tax is owed also attracts "a late-filing penalty. The penalty is 5% of your balance owing for 2025, plus 1% of your balance owing for each full month that your return is late, to a maximum of 12 months."
Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaRegistration deadline
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
On or before 1 October, or before the first payment is due
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed
Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaContribution refund window
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
No later than two years after the end of the calendar year the payer sent the tax to the CRA
What is lost
The source states the CRA "can refund" the excess only within that two-year period; it notes a longer refund period may apply depending on the tax treaty with your country of residence.

A refund of excess non-resident tax withheld on Canadian pension payments must be claimed on Form NR7-R within two years of the end of the calendar year in which the payer remitted the tax.

Official source, canada.caChecked
CanadaWaiting period
What starts the clock
The calendar year the person ceases to be a resident of Canada.
How long
At least 2 calendar years of non-residence, with residency in a calendar year determined by having lived in Canada 183 days or more that year.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

OSFI's guidance on unlocking funds from a federally regulated pension plan or locked-in retirement savings plan states that a person can unlock on non-residency grounds once they have ceased to be a resident of Canada for at least two calendar years.

What the source does not say

The page states the eligibility condition itself but no separate penalty or consequence sentence for not yet meeting it.

Official source, osfi-bsif.gc.caChecked
CanadaWaiting period
What starts the clock
The day the account owner departs Canada.
How long
Two years after departing Canada, together with a written determination from the CRA that the person is a non-resident of Canada for Income Tax Act purposes, and completion of FSRA's Form 5.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

FSRA (Ontario's pension and financial services regulator) states that the owner of an Ontario locked-in account may apply to unlock and withdraw all the money two years after departing Canada, provided they also obtain a CRA determination of non-residency and complete FSRA's Form 5.

What the source does not say

The page frames this as a positive eligibility condition to unlock funds (what you need to qualify), not as a deadline with a stated penalty for non-compliance, so no consequence sentence was found.

Official source, fsrao.caChecked
CanadaOther
What starts the clock
The source does not state when a clock starts.
How long
No minimum period of non-residence is required.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

Alberta's Superintendent of Pensions Interpretive Guideline on unlocking states that, unlike Ontario and the federal regime, there is no requirement for the plan administrator or financial institution to confirm the person has been a non-resident for any specific minimum period before unlocking on non-residency grounds.

What the source does not say

Since Alberta imposes no minimum period, there is no clock start date or deadline as such; the guideline notes CRA may still consider length of non-residency when it decides the residency determination itself, but does not turn that into a stated Alberta deadline or penalty.

Official source, open.alberta.caChecked
CanadaOther
What starts the clock
The date the pension assets are transferred to the designated entity (Bank of Canada).
How long
Sections 141 and 142 of the Budget Implementation Act, 2021, No. 1 (which the Regulations are tied to) come into force on January 1, 2027; after transfer, prescribed persons may claim within 30 years if the amount transferred is under $1,000, and within 100 years in any other case.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

Amendments to the federal Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 establish a framework for transferring the pension assets of federally regulated plan members who cannot be located to a designated entity (the Bank of Canada), with prescription periods after which claims may no longer be made; the enabling statutory sections come into force on 1 January 2027.

What the source does not say

The Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement and regulation text did not state what happens to the funds after the 30 year or 100 year prescription period expires (forfeiture, transfer to the Consolidated Revenue Fund, or otherwise); this was checked directly and not found.

Official source, gazette.gc.caChecked
CanadaOther
What starts the clock
Departure from Canada
How long
Payments may stop after more than 6 months away if the 20-year test is not met
What is lost
Old Age Security (and Guaranteed Income Supplement) may stop if you are away for more than 6 months and do not qualify for receiving payments outside Canada. The page says calling before you leave 'helps prevent overpayments that you may have to repay later'. The page also states Service Canada compares information with the Canada Border Service Agency and that you could be fined 'for giving false or misleading information, or purposely omitting information' (not for the absence itself).

OAS can be received while living abroad only if you lived in Canada at least 20 years after turning 18, or lived and worked in a social security agreement country with combined time of at least 20 years. Otherwise OAS (and GIS) may stop after more than 6 months away; you must call Service Canada before leaving for more than 6 months and on return to restart payments.

What the source does not say

The page says payments 'may stop' after more than 6 months away, not that they stop; the page's wording is kept.

Official source, canada.caChecked

This page is part of our Cross-Border Pension Deadline Register. If you find an error, tell us and we will publish the correction.