Skip to main content

Deadline register

Japan pension deadlines for people who left

We list every obligation we have verified in Japan's pension system that runs on a time limit for someone who no longer lives there. Each row says what starts the clock, how long it runs and what is lost, with the official source and the date we checked it. We hold 18 rows for Japan. Where an official source is silent, we say so on the row rather than guess.

Pick the year and we open the free checker with Japan already selected.

JapanForfeiture
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Fewer than 2 years elapsed since the date insured status was last lost
What is lost
The requirement is one of a set the page states must all be satisfied to receive the payment; the page does not separately describe what happens once two years have elapsed.

"Not more than two years having elapsed since the day you last lost insured status under the public pension system" is listed as one of the mandatory eligibility requirements for the Lump-sum Withdrawal Payment, alongside not holding Japanese nationality, having at least 6 months of coverage, not meeting the 10-year qualifying period, never having held a right to a disability pension, and not having an address in Japan.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanForfeiture
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Pension instalments dated more than 5 years before the date of claim
What is lost
The source states such pension "cannot be received due to prescription (時効)".

Any Japanese pension falling due more than five years before the date you actually claim is time-barred and cannot be paid, except for amounts treated as having been deferred under the deferral (kurisage) arrangement.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanForfeiture
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Instalments dated more than 5 years before the date of claim
What is lost
The source states those amounts "cannot be received due to prescription" and that because there is no deferral scheme for this pension, applicants are urged to act early.

For the Specially Provided Old-age Employees' Pension (tokubetsu shikyu no rorei kosei nenkin) there is no deferral scheme, so if the claim is late, every instalment dated more than five years before the claim is lost to prescription.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanArrears destroyed
What starts the clock
The start of the person's paid National Pension contribution period, or the start of their Employees Pension Insurance enrollment period.
How long
At least six months must have accumulated: for National Pension, months during which premiums were actually paid, not merely enrolled but unpaid months; for Employees Pension Insurance, at least six months of combined enrollment including mutual aid association periods.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

To be eligible for the lump sum withdrawal payment, a person must have at least six months of paid National Pension contribution months (unpaid enrolled months do not count), or at least six months of Employees Pension Insurance enrollment period including mutual aid association periods.

What the source does not say

The page distinguishes National Pension periods, which must be premium paid months and explicitly exclude unpaid enrolled months, from Employees Pension Insurance periods, a straight enrollment period count, and applies the six month threshold separately to each system rather than as one combined figure. The page does not state what happens to contributions below six months, for example whether they can later be combined with a subsequent period of insured status. The Promotion and Mutual Aid Corporation for Private Schools of Japan states the same six month threshold for its own Employees Pension Insurance members in different wording: kosei nenkin hoken no hihokensha kikan ga 6 kagetsu ijou de aru koto (that the Employees Pension Insurance insured period is six months or more).

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanArrears destroyed
What starts the clock
The day the right arose (権利が発生してから). For individual instalments the page's table gives the first day of the month after the payment date.
How long
5 years.
What is lost
The page states the basic right is extinguished by prescription after 5 years (時効によって消滅します), but also states that where the person could not apply before prescription for unavoidable reasons and files a written statement of the reason, JPS does not treat the basic right as extinguished (「やむを得ない事情により、時効完成前に請求をすることができなかった場合は、その理由を書面で申し立てていただくことにより、基本権を時効消滅させない取扱いを行っています」). For instalments (支分権): rights arising on or before 6 July 2007 extinguish automatically after 5 years under the Accounting Act; rights arising on or after 7 July 2007 do not extinguish automatically, the state must individually invoke prescription (「5年を経過しても自動的に消滅せず、国が個別に時効を援用することによって、時効消滅する」), and the page states it does not invoke it where a decision followed a record correction or where a non-invocation administrative error is recognised.

The right to receive a pension (basic right) is extinguished by prescription when 5 years have passed since the right arose; the right to individual pension payments (支分権) is likewise subject to a 5-year prescription.

What the source does not say

The page's own sentence on the basic right is quoted. A second sentence on the page covers instalments: 「平成19年7月6日以前に受給権が発生した年金の支給を受ける権利(支分権)は、会計法の規定により、5年を経過したときは時効によって消滅します。」 The page also states that if the pension record is corrected the full amount is paid even after 5 years, and that a written statement of unavoidable circumstances can prevent the basic right being extinguished, so a flat statement that instalments over five years old are lost would overstate the rule.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanBackdating limit
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Within the 10 years preceding the month the retrospective payment is approved
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

Exempted or deferred National Pension contributions can only be paid up retrospectively (tsuino) for exemption periods falling within the ten years before the month in which the retrospective payment is approved.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanApplication window
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Within 2 years of leaving Japan
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed
Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanApplication window
What starts the clock
The day the person last lost insured status under the public pension system, or, if the person still had an address in Japan on that date, the day they subsequently no longer have an address in Japan.
How long
Within two years of the applicable start date described above.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

A person who has lost insured status under the public pension system can apply for the lump sum withdrawal payment only within two years of the day they last lost that insured status. If the person still had an address in Japan on the date they lost insured status, the two year period instead runs from the day they no longer have an address in Japan.

What the source does not say

The FAQ page states the two year rule as a strict condition for applying and does not use forfeiture wording: it does not say the right is lost or extinguished after two years, only that the application can be made only within that period. The page says the period runs kara (from that day), not from the day after. The conditions on nationality, insured status and address come from a companion Japan Pension Service page, not from the FAQ page itself. Japan Pension Service's page on agreements in force states: 'Agreements with United Kingdom, Republic of Korea, China and Italy include the elimination of dual coverage only'. Periods under those four agreements therefore cannot be combined with Japanese periods towards the minimum period for an ongoing Japanese pension, which makes this two year window matter more for people covered only by them. The Promotion and Mutual Aid Corporation for Private Schools of Japan states the same condition in its own words: that two years have not passed since the day insured status under the public pension system was last lost.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanApplication window
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Between age 66 and age 75
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed
Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanApplication window
What starts the clock
The day the person ceased to have an address in Japan (日本に住所を有しなくなった日). The page adds: if the person still had a Japanese address on the day insured status was lost, the 2 years run from the first day after that on which they no longer had an address in Japan.
How long
Within 2 years of the clock start.
What is lost
The page states that when 2 or more years have passed since the day National Pension status was last lost, the lump-sum withdrawal can no longer be applied for (脱退一時金を請求することができません).

A non-Japanese national who has lost National Pension or Employees' Pension insured status and left Japan may apply for the lump-sum withdrawal payment (脱退一時金) within two years of the day they ceased to have an address in Japan.

What the source does not say

The page's trigger is the day the person ceased to have an address in Japan, not the day insured status was lost.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanApplication window
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Within 2 years of losing insured status, or within 2 years of ceasing to have an address in Japan if you still had one on the date status was lost
What is lost
The source states the claim may be made only within that two-year window ("2年以内に限り請求することができます"); it does not further state what happens to the money afterwards.

The Lump-sum Withdrawal Payment can only be claimed within two years of the day you lost insured status in the Japanese public pension system; if you still had a Japanese address on that day, the two years instead run from the day you ceased to have an address in Japan.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanRegistration deadline
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
By the last day of the second month preceding the pension payment date
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

A pensioner moving abroad must file the 'Registration (Change) of Address and Receiving Financial Institution for Pension Beneficiaries Residing Overseas' form by the last day of the month before last relative to the pension payment date.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanRegistration deadline
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
Documents must be issued within 6 months before the claim is submitted, and on or after the entitlement date
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

When claiming a Japanese pension from abroad, supporting civil-status documents must have been issued on or after the date the entitlement arose AND within six months before the date the pension claim form is submitted.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanProof of life
What starts the clock
The pensioner's birth month each year (JPS states it sends the form 3 months before the birth month).
How long
By the last day of the birth month, every year.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

A pensioner living abroad must submit a 現況届 (status report) once a year; the deadline is the last day of the pensioner's birth month.

The page's only sentence on withholding says that residents of countries where international mail is not accepted will not have payment withheld for non-submission: 「現況届の提出がない場合においても年金の支払いを差し止めないこととします」. It does not state the general consequence.

What the source does not say

The page does not state in general terms that payment is suspended; only the exemption sentence implies it.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanOther
What starts the clock
The source does not state this as a personal running clock; the page instead sets a fixed calendar cutoff of 1 April 2021, and the cap that applies depends on the last month premiums were paid or the last month of insured status relative to that date.
How long
A 60 month cap applies if the last paid or insured month is April 2021 or later; a 36 month cap applies if the last paid or insured month is March 2021 or earlier, and for Employees Pension Insurance periods before March 2021 the 36 month cap continues to apply.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

For National Pension periods, if the last month for which premiums were paid is April 2021 or later, up to 60 months are counted in the calculation. If the last paid month is March 2021 or earlier, up to 36 months are counted. For Employees Pension Insurance periods before March 2021, the calculation continues to use a cap of 36 months.

What the source does not say

This is a calculation parameter tied to a fixed date set by the government, not an action a person must take by a certain date, so it is a deadline only in a loose sense. The page states no consequence attached to this cap and does not say whether a person can influence which cap applies, for example by the timing of their departure or last contribution. The Promotion and Mutual Aid Corporation for Private Schools of Japan states only the 36 month cap for periods up to March 2021 and does not state the change to a 60 month cap from April 2021.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanOther
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
From the third fiscal year onward, counted from the fiscal year following approval of the exemption or deferral
What is lost
The source states that an additional amount corresponding to the elapsed period is added on top of the contribution amount as it stood at the time.

If exempted or deferred National Pension contributions are paid up in the third fiscal year or later counting from the fiscal year after the exemption/deferral was approved, a surcharge is added to the original contribution amount, scaled to the time elapsed.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanOther
What starts the clock
Not applicable (no deadline; eligibility rule).
How long
Not applicable.
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

Where Japanese insured periods alone do not meet the qualifying requirement, periods in a social security agreement partner country can be counted toward the Japanese qualifying period; the page's worked example shows this against the 10-year requirement (被保険者期間が10年以上).

What the source does not say

The rule is on the page japanway.html; its parent pages carry only navigation. The 10-year figure appears on the page in the table row 「受給資格要件たる期間 被保険者期間が10年以上」 and in the examples 「3年<10年→不支給」 and 「6年+3年+2年=11年>10年→支給」.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked
JapanTransition date
What starts the clock
The source does not state what starts the clock
How long
April 2021 (Reiwa 3, April) onwards
What is lost
the source does not state what happens if this is missed

From April 2021 the maximum number of months used to calculate the Lump-sum Withdrawal Payment was raised from 36 months (3 years) to 60 months (5 years), but only where there is a contribution-paid period (National Pension) or insured period (Employees' Pension) falling in April 2021 or later.

Official source, nenkin.go.jpChecked

This page is part of our Cross-Border Pension Deadline Register. If you find an error, tell us and we will publish the correction.